Conversation

She once said to me:

Life (July 16th 2005)

Life’s too short to be ordinary
Every breath like a strand of hair
Like an autumn’s leaf, leaving the branches bare
Life’s too short to be dreary
A water’s flow may never rewind
It only pushes towards the wonderful things it finds
So laugh the days when a frown melts your face
Explore each new feature in its own charm and grace
Let the wind lift the leaf up, cool it in a daze

And I her, with all respect:

Elevated (April 29th 2010)

My heart leaps up when I behold
A rainbow in the sky

Helios grants you your smile
Iris pigments your copious mind
And in your every breath
whispers the quintessence bequeathed from Aphrodite

The Muses never teach me poetry
nor music, nor astronomy.
If they did I would coordinate
all those sacred arts to concretize your universal beauty.

Pegasus changes his course every year
As Zeus’ divine silhouette draws near
Once in a while he exalts thee
to a prestige bolstered by Nike

The Child is the father of the Man;
I could wish my days to be
Bound each to each by natural piety.

============================================
TD wrote Life first for her then boyfriend. I do not remember what struggle I was having back in the day, but she sent me to both celebrate my birthday July 20th and to inspire me to keep moving forward. With such support, I did overcome whatever bullshit it was. Several years later, when I had reached some mediocre achievements, on her birthday I remembered how inspiring she had always been to me and wrote down Elevated to celebrate her day.

Leave a Reply

