Andy Warhol’s 15 Minutes Eternal in Tokyo

It rained and stopped and rained and stopped all over Tokyo. I parted with my friend, and headed for the Mori Art Museum to see the biggest Pop Art Icon of all time – Andy Warhol.

I knew his works before I knew him. I had seen his series of Marilyn Monroe, his food cans, and several other self-portraits and portraits. All of them strikingly stood out but in such consistency that I recognized they were created by the same person. Today I walked the exhibition route that introduced him from early to late, with techniques developed through periods, and concepts changed over life events.

My contemplations kept flowing out nonstop, which made it hard to arrange neatly into paragraphs. Thus, I decided to put them into random bulletins below.

  • There is no doubt Andy Warhol is the greatest and most influential illustrator of the the second half of the 20th century. I can’t imagine today illustrations without his widespread blotted line technique and his use of florescent colors. His style of trailing figures’s contours on prints with sophisticated thin line has been mimicked worldwide to an annoying extent.
  • His concept of art-for-everybody is not new but very down-to-earth and convincing. He stated his art and himself could be comprehended from the surface, no concealment. He followed Pop Art depicting consumers’ goods, letting everyone feel familiar to art. He never neglected or looked down on boring things as well; watch his films and feel the beautiful mundane time flow. Apparently, to him (and it should be to all of us), art is everywhere waiting to be presented in the least ornate way.
  • His idea of the Silver Cloud is one of a kind. I was totally stunned, standing inside the room with the silver-coated helium pack floating up and down lackadaisically. This installment of the Silver Cloud at Mori Art Museum gave us more than just the original work: the organizers chose this corner of the tenant that looked out over the city from the 53rd floor. And in the reddish orange dusk, the silhouette of Mt. Fuji rendered the magnificent background for the silver clouds to reflect the sparkling glow of the setting sun and dye the air in the room in fulvous fairy dust. I would remember this scene for the rest of my life; it was printed steadfastly like acrylic on my retina.
AndyWarholCafe
Andy Warhol Cafe, installed with the Rain Machine which has a massive wall of daisy-printed tiles

Before I left, I spent my dinner at the Andy Warhol Cafe beside the exhibition and tasted the clam chowder by Campbell’s. Either because of the good feeling after the visit, or because it really was, the chowder tasted like heaven. Looking out the big glass window over the city at night, I felt very satisfied for a well-spent Sunday.

CityNight
View over Tokyo from 53rd floor
hotdogset
Andy Warhol Hotdog Set (sounds pretty amusing for a dirty mind)
andywarholcar
He said “I love that car. It has turned out better than the artwork”
Leave a Reply

