Digital Bill at Sushi Bar

digitalbill.jpg

Yesterday I went to a kaiten sushi bar, the common one with a conveyor belt delivering sushi dishes around. After I finished my meal, I was taken aback by this small gadget: a digital bill.

In Japan, traditionally, a sushi bar distinguishes the prices based on the colors of the dishes and the staff will count the dishes to calculate your payment. In most bars nowadays, they scan the chip-embedded dishes with a handy signal reader and the device automatically prints out the bill. You will bring that bill to the counter and pay there.

This sushi bar I visited yesterday, however, makes a further enhancement to its system: it digitalized the bill. As you can see in the photo above, my meal was summed up in a tag small enough to lie completely in my hand. I am very impressed by this device because:

  1. It is neatly and elegantly designed.
  2. It helps save paper and printing ink, thus is eco-friendly.
  3. It may have taken into account several sushi consumers’ behaviors: they pay little attention to the contents of what they have consumed; they need to know the total amount quickly; not all require receipts.

Even my Japanese friends admired the digital bill tag. Besides, the number of dishes (correlated with the total amount) surprised them too: I ate about 1.5 times as they did.

3 thoughts on “Digital Bill at Sushi Bar

  1. Wow, thats amazing technology. I remember when I saw digital price tags at a clothes store in South Florida, but those haven’t caught on much yet. This ‘digital bill’ is even more advanced and hopefully it spreads to other stores soon.

    Japan really has the best technology in so many areas, I have to get back someday to see those things myself…

Leave a Reply

