Claude Monet’s The Undergrowth in the Forest of Saint-German

20131106-101857.jpg

I went to an exhibition on Divisionism last Saturday. The museum displayed a range of superb artworks from early Impressionism to Fauvism and early Cubism. I love all the masterpieces.

Among them, the above painting by Monet gave me the best satisfaction. I have always been a fervent fan of Impressionism in general and Monet in particular. I admire his revolutionary rough brushstrokes, wild and bright utilization of colors, and impressive representation of light. In this painting of the Undergrowth in the Forest of Saint-German, his sensitivity to light, shapes and space composes a vivid tunnel of flowers. Facing it in the museum, I was drawn deep into that tunnel as if I were strolling towards that vanishing point. I enjoyed letting myself get lost in this lucid and lively surroundings.

Once I read a twitter that claimed watching a fine painting affected the same brain areas as having sex. Neglecting the orgasm, I can feel much truth in that. 😆😝😈

2 thoughts on “Claude Monet’s The Undergrowth in the Forest of Saint-German

    1. I’m glad you like the review and the exhibition as well. Thanks for the kind words too. If you also are a Claude Monet’s fan like me, I highly recommend the Monet Exhibition that will be held from Dec 7 in Ueno. I already got excited looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

